Too Good Not to Share.

[214 days to go] Throughout the first two weeks of my training program, which has me working out five days a week and cutting down on sweets and all things delicious, I have been MADLY craving something vaguely dessert-like (not too greasy, not too boring). I recently stumbled upon a recipe on the Runner’s World website for pumpkin chocolate chip bread, and I made a few healthy substitutions to make it more user-friendly. The final product is fabulous, despite my novice baker moves…

Here is the link:  Runner’s World Pumpkin Bread Recipe

Here are my substitutions:

  • Instead of 3 cups of sugar (WILD!) I only used 1 cup.
  • Instead of 3 1/2 cups of white flour, I used 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour and 2 cups white
  • Instead of 1 cup of oil, I used 2/3 cup
  • After pouring the batter into the pan I sprinkled crushed walnuts on top

Et, voila. Delicious, healthy, protein-packed wonder-bread (quite unlike Wonder Bread…) and it took less than an hour to make. The working/running/studying girl’s dream.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

