Back in business!

[142 days to go] I am incredibly happy to update that I ran for the first time in a week and half last night, and my toe barely hurt! I ran 4 miles on the treadmill… daintily at first, but I was at full-speed and normal posture in no time.

Read: I will be running the half marathon on Sunday!

I plan to take it easy for the next few days and for the race, especially since it’s supposed to be 83 and sunny… not ideal. Despite this toe-setback and the challenge of running a half marathon with an abbreviated training week, I could not be happier that I am able to run again. I didn’t realize how much I missed it until I was getting into my rhythm on the treadmill, sweating, pumping up my mph, and cranking my iPod.

I’ve recently started to feel that running is something that I want to continue doing even after I finish the marathon in October. There are so many reasons to continue, even though it can be time-consuming and mentally and physically challenging. I’ve seen improvements in my eating habits, weight, sleep, overall health, mood, and energy. Running makes you think consciously and holistically about your body and health, and it encourages you to make better choices for yourself. Hell, I’ve even gone to the dentist twice in the past month, and yes – I have running to thank for it. For these reasons I’ve decided to take on running as a lifetime sport.

My goal for the evening is to find spandex shorts for Sunday! I’m slowly giving in to the idea that wearing my standard black capri running tights is not the best idea for 13 miles in 83 degrees. So I’m going for the shorter version – woo! I am a walking fashion icon. And when you see tight spandex compression shorts coming back into fashion, you’ll know who to thank.

Under Armour Compression Shorts

Weeeee!

1 Comment

Filed under Training

One response to “Back in business!

  1. John Poirier

    Katie:

    I am extremely proud of you for taking on this journey and for working through your first major setback! I will be thinking of you on Sunday and hope you have a great experience! Be careful, and run a smart race. Don’t worry about anyone else. You run your race!

    Think of me on Saturday, as we take TEAM USA down to Bar Harbor and ride the park loop road and then (for those who want the challenge, which will be me!) we ride up to the summit of Cadillac Mt. Then of course, there is the ride down the mountain ……heeeehaaa!!! Just 3 more weeks until the TREK Across Maine…hard to believe!

    Good luck and have fun on Sunday!

    Love you,

    Dad

Leave a Reply

