Caprese Bruschetta!

[52 days left to go] Caprese bruschetta! Yell it from the rooftops, friends, because this is your new light, delicious, healthy, fast (and runner-friendly) meal.

The Man and I recently went to Picco, a great easy-going Italian restaurant in the South End, on one of these endlessly rainy days. After wading through the streets of Bean Town to work, from work, to gym, from gym, the last thing we felt like tackling was dinner (ugh). So off we went in search of great food… and then came the Great Enlightenment.

I had never eaten bruschetta before our Picco dinner (why didn’t anyone tell me about this amazing dish?), but now I’m hooked. Part of the appeal is that there are an endless number of ways to prepare bruschetta, using any variety of ingredients and toppings. Choosing ingredients that create a nice flavor combination is best, but if weird flavor combos is your thing, than bruschetta is for you too.

I am a repeat offender of making dishes that I like over (and over), and tonight’s dinner was the exact caprese bruschetta dish that we had at Picco. I will branch out eventually, but for now I wanted to recreate the same experience.

Here are the ingredients we used:

  • Fresh mozzarella balls
  • Fresh basil
  • Cherry tomatoes (red and yellow)
  • Olives
  • Baguette
  • Balsamic dressing
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • Salt & pepper

There are only a few simple steps to putting together bruschetta:

  1. Cut baguette on a diagonal, and toast each piece (I laid them all on a baking sheet and toasted them in the oven for roughly 20 minutes on 350 degrees)
  2. Chop cherry tomatoes, mozzarella, and basil into smaller slices
  3. Lightly drizzle bread with olive oil and balsamic
  4. Stack on tomatoes, mozzarella, basil and olives
  5. Add salt & pepper

Et voila.

6 Comments

Filed under Food Stuffs, Uncategorized

6 responses to “Caprese Bruschetta!

  1. Meg W

    Had you not been out of town a year ago when I had people over to my place in early August, you would have been able to try my very own bruschetta recipe! Alas, you had to wait a year to discover the deliciousness of this dish!

  2. MAHM

    I see your restaurant has aglio e olio on the menu – we should go and do a comparison test soon!

  3. YOU need to try my mother’s bruschetta. Faboo.

Leave a Reply

