calories in – calories out

I recently heard a quote that went something like:

“The greatest issue in weight loss is the overestimation of calories burned through exercise, and the underestimation of calories consumed.”

Interesting, right? Many times after I run I feel as though I can eat as much (reasonable food) as a want because, hey – I ran. It is also very true that after nine months of consistent running I have only lost 4 pounds. In terms of muscle gain and toning there is no question that my body has changed, but those nagging extra pounds haven’t budged. From perusing runners magazines and blogs I know that this is a common experience among runners, so now I’m on a mission to practice more awareness while eating.

The Plan: Keep a food journal. It’s a great way to be more conscious of what you’re eating and how much. WebMD has an article on the efficacy of food journals, which discusses studies that show that individuals who consistently keep a food journal lose twice as much weight as those who don’t. That’s as much encouragement as I need!

1 Comment

Filed under Food Stuffs

One response to “calories in – calories out

  1. MAHM

    I also love http://www.mypyramid.gov for getting real about calories in and out. A perfect for food diarists everywhere. AND – they don’t seems to notice that I have (in the input data) been the same age and weight for the past 20 years….

Leave a Reply

