fall chill

I just spent a fantastic Columbus day with The Man relaxing, puttering around our apartment, and cooking. I recently realized how important it is to have a clean and organized kitchen, and how much more fun it is to cook when you can actually find what you need. Our kitchen has been out of control for some time, so we attacked our refrigerator, cabinets, and hutch – I don’t think I’ve seen that many un-paired tupperware lids in one place, ever. Welcome to my new hutch!

I wasn’t lying when I said I have a tiny kitchen. I have two small cabinets and this hutch, so space is of the essence. We used to have all our dishes in one place, until I realized that we don’t need or use 27 plates and 27 bowls. I took our extra table settings out of the hutch and there was a ton of extra space that is easily accessible. Given that I register at a whopping 5’1″ this is a very important feature of kitchen items.

Bear with me here because I know exactly how nerdy this sounds, but I am super excited about my new pantry canister set (above)! I have been experimenting with new grains and the more I collected, the fewer places I had to store them. These canisters were really inexpensive, are easy to use, and they look great. I was able to store my brown rice, bulgur, whole wheat flour, lentils, quinoa and chia seeds. So awesome.

After cleaning out our kitchen The Man and I were starved, so I threw together a quick turkey chili. I had never made chili before, but I may consider it a new staple after today. This dish was flavorful, healthy, filling, and so quick to make that I can see much more of it in my future.

And then I rounded out the day by re-potting my favorite plant!

Enjoy the rest of the day –

Turkey Chili

  • 3 tbs olive oil
  • 1 medium onion
  • 2-3 cloves garlic
  • 3 tbs dried oregano
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tablespoon tomato paste
  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1 can kidney beans
  • 1 can white beans
  • 1 can whole kernel corn
  • 1 can (12 oz) ground, peeled tomatoes
  • 2 cups low sodium chicken broth
  • 2 tbs brown sugar
  • Salt & pepper to taste

Chop onion and dice garlic – add both to olive oil in a pot on medium heat. Add cumin and oregano – let cook for 3 minutes. Add tomato paste, let cook an additional three minutes. Add ground turkey and cook until it loses it’s raw color (roughly 8-10 minutes). Add can of tomatoes (squeeze tomatoes to reduce size), chicken broth, beans, and corn. Bring to a boil, and then lower heat. Let simmer until chili thickens, stirring occasionally.

* For those of you who can handle spice (myself not included) add some red pepper flakes or other hot things.

Serves 6.

1 Comment

Filed under Food Stuffs

One response to “fall chill

  1. Jessy Poo

    I recognize that plant!!! P.S. Cook me something delish–everything looks so good!

Leave a Reply

