overnight oats

After finishing my last half marathon for the season I stopped exercising regularly. I would throw in a quick run here and there, but my classes had started, I was recouping from the Smuttynose Half, and I was content with relaxing for a bit. I ramped up my healthy cooking and eating, which sufficed for a while, but I knew I would come around again to running and being more active.

This past week I got the bug, and I  have been hitting up the gym a lot more. The weather is cold and windy now and it’s dark by the time I get out of work, so I don’t mind being in the gym. To be honest, I actually really enjoy it. I went to a step aerobics class last night that was one of the best yet. The music was loud, the mix was 80’s classic hits, I was wearing my favorite spandex, and I busted out (blond ponytail flying) for a full hour. I left feeling tired, sweaty, and hungry, but so happy that I had gone.

I woke up this morning still feeling fantastic – and even more so when I remembered that I had this waiting for me!

Kath, from Kath Eats Real Food has a great recipe for what she calls “overnight oats.” It’s a simple concept with an infinite number of ways to make it, and it’s now one of my favorite breakfasts. You put rolled oats, milk, and yogurt together in any kind of container, and then stash it in the fridge overnight. In the morning the oats will have absorbed the liquid, and you end up with oatmeal without any of the cooking. The texture is doughy (which you can adjust based on the amount of milk you put in) and it’s filling… especially after you finish piling it with add-ons.

I chose to dress my overnight oats with banana, cinnamon, honey, and some of my homemade seedy granola.

This is a great way to start your morning, and you can really put anything on these oats. Check out Kath’s Tribute to Oatmeal for some ideas.

Overnight Oats:

  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup skim milk
  • 1/3 cup low-fat greek yogurt
  • 1 banana
  • 1/3 cup seedy granola
  • 2 tbs honey
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Put oats, yogurt and milk together in a container. Be sure to mix well so that all the oats are coated. Put in fridge overnight, and then add honey, granola, bananas, and cinnamon (and anything else you feel like) in the morning. The oats are meant to be eaten cold, but you can also heat them up in the microwave if you prefer them hot. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Training

Leave a Reply

