roasted veg

There’s something innately soothing about chopping vegetables. It’s rhythmic and it’s tangible, there is a beginning and an end, and (if all goes well) you get a pretty little end product.

Many times on the weekends I bake a handful of whatever vegetables I have around. Just for fun-sies you could say.

They are to-die-for when they are fresh and hot out of the oven, and the roasting leaves them with enough flavor that they are great leftovers for the week.

Broccoli is one of my favorite vegetables, and roasting them just makes them more fabulous. I may mostly like them because I thought they were mini trees when I was little. As a youth, I could eat an entire forest.

But who am I kidding, acting like you didn’t already know that everything is better when roasted with olive oil, salt & pepper. Truly, everything. This picture makes me want to lick my screen, since they’re already gone from my kitchen.

I wish I could show you a pretty picture of the roasted veggies, all plated and gorgeous (and not lumped on my gnarly baking sheet). Instead, The Man and I stood at the stove and ate these – with our fingers. Before we knew it they were mostly gone. They are really that good.

Roasted Broccoli, Potatoes & Brussels Sprouts

  • 2 medium potatoes
  • 2 large heads of broccoli
  • 1 small package of Brussels sprouts
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 5-6 glugs of olive oil
  • Salt & pepper

Chop all vegetables and mince garlic. Make sure potatoes are sliced thinly, and cut Brussels sprouts in half. Lay out on baking sheets (I used two, and put potatoes on one, all things green on the other). Sprinkle minced garlic on each pan. Drizzle olive oil over each pan of veggies. Salt & pepper each pan liberally. Use your hands to mix vegetables, making sure they are evenly coated with oil. Cook in oven at 425 degrees for 10 minutes. Keep potatoes in longer – they may need more time depending on how thinly you sliced them.

Leave a comment

Filed under Training

Leave a Reply

